Media Release: CBR Sport Awards – Nominations now open

Media Release: CBR Sport Awards – Nominations now open

9th August 2017

There was a high-achieving crowd on hand as Minister for Sport and Recreation Yvette Berry launched the 2017 CBR Sport Awards today at Manuka Oval.


Reigning People’s Sporting Champion Jarrod Croker joined the call for nominations, alongside last year’s Athlete of the Year in women’s sport Kim Brennan, para Athlete of the Year Sue Powell and Steve Dodt from Ginninderra Athletics, who won for Outstanding Service to Sport.

“The CBR Sport Awards on 1 December 2017 will be the sector’s night of nights, celebrating our sporting stars, whether they’re the faces you know or volunteers not used to the limelight,” Minister Berry said.

“Canberra has long been Australia’s most active community. We have space for kids to get outside and play, we have facilities for locals to play the sports they love at any age, and we are home to elite athletes who are forging impressive careers and giving Canberrans local champions to cheer for.

“We’re calling on local sporting bodies to put forward nominations and show us what you’ve got. We’re looking forward to celebrating your achievements, performances and contributions.”

Nominations in all but one category must come from the sporting administrations, while nominations for the People’s Sporting Champion will open later this year, and can be made by anyone in the Canberra community.

“Sport brings our community together, building pride in our city and breaking down barriers of culture, class and gender,” said Minister Berry.

“The Government’s support for sporting clubs, our investments in facilities and our particular focus on women in sport is helping Canberra become a healthier, more productive and more inclusive city.

“I encourage everyone in Canberra’s sporting community to get involved in these Awards.”


The 2017 CBR Sport Award categories are unchanged from the inaugural year. They are:

  • Athlete of the Year – Men’s Sport
  • Athlete of the Year – Women’s Sport
  • Athlete of the Year – Para-Sport
  • Team of the Year
  • Outstanding Service to Sport
  • People’s Sporting Champion
  • Minister for Sport and Recreation’s Award for Inclusion
  • Minister for Sport and Recreation’s Award for Innovation
  • Minister for Sport and Recreation’s Award for Event Excellence
  • ACT Sport Hall of Fame Full Member
  • ACT Sport Hall of Fame Associate Member




Email the Softball ACT office with any further queries